The Board consists of sixteen members appointed by the Regional governments and the federal government, providing an equal representation of public and private sectors. Each Region appoints a Government Commissioner.

On the 9th of February 2024, the Board of Directors is composed as follows:

Honorary President: His Majesty the King
Chair: Mr Didier Malherbe
Vice-Chair: Mrs Sarah Albaladejo Garcia

Federal Government Representatives (see below) 
Flemish Region Representatives (see below) 
Walloon Region Representatives (see below)
Brussels-Capital Region Representatives (see below)

group picture Board of Directors 20.06.2022

Board of Directors

  • His Majesty the King
    Honorary President
    © Royal Palace, Belgium

    On 6 August 1993, Prince Philippe accepted the Honorary Presidency of the Board of Directors of the Belgian Foreign Trade Office (Belgische Dienst voor Buitenlandse Handel - Office Belge du Commerce extérieur) as a result of a decision by the Council of Ministers. He succeeded his father, who had held this position since 1962.

    On 3 May 2003, the Prince was then appointed Honorary President of the Board of Directors of the Belgian Foreign Trade Agency (BFTA). 

    In this capacity, he led 85 economic missions abroad over the next 20 years. He built bridges between Belgian and foreign companies as well as between Belgian companies. Following his accession to the throne in 2013, he has remained Honorary Chairman of the BFTA but has asked his sister Princess Astrid to represent him on economic missions.


  • Didier Malherbe
    Chairman of the Board - BCI Pharma & CEO EU Biotech Campus
  • Sarah Albaladejo Garcia
    Foreign Affairs, European Policy, Trade and Defence Advisor - Study Centre Open Vld

Federal Government Representatives

Federal Government (public sector)

  • Jeroen Cooreman
    Director General for Bilateral Affairs, FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation
  • Julien de Fraipont
    Advisor, Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs, European Affairs, Foreign Trade and in charge of Federal Cultural Institutions, Hadja Lahbib

Federal Government (private sector)

  • Didier Malherbe
    Chairmain of the Board – BCI Pharma & CEO EU Biotech Campus
  • Benoit Monteyne
    Adviser – Federation of Enterprises in Belgium (FEB)

Flemish Region Representatives

Flemish Region (public sector)

  • Sarah Albaladejo Garcia
    Foreign Affairs, European Policy, Trade and Defence Advisor - Study Centre Open Vld
  • Jurian Van Parys
    Legal Advisor - Flanders Chancellery and Foreign Office

Flemish Region (private sector)

  • Maarten Libeer
    Advisor International Entrepreneurship – Voka - Vlaams netwerk van Ondernemingen
  • Emiel Neyrinck
    Advisor International Entrepreneurship - UNIZO Internationaal

Government Commissioner for the Flemish Region

  • Thomas Moens
    Vice President Europe I - Flanders Investment & Trade

Walloon Region Representatives

Walloon Region (public sector)

  • Pascale Delcomminette
    CEO - Wallonia Export-Investment Agency (AWEX) and Wallonia-Brussels International (WBI)
  • Emmanuel Calay

Walloon Region (private sector)

  • Jean Marbehant
    Vice President Public Affairs - Lhoist Europe
  • Jean-Christophe Dehalu
    Senior Advisor Economy - R&D - International - Walloon Business Association (UWE)

Government Commissioner for the Walloon Region

  • Nicolas Delsarte
    Foreign Trade Advisor to the Vice-President of Wallonia Government, Minister of Economy, Foreign Trade, Research and Innovation, Digitalization, Agriculture, Land Planning and Skills and Training Centers, Willy Borsus

Brussels-Capital Region Representatives

Brussels-Capital Region (public sector)

  • Isabelle Grippa
    CEO -

                © Laetizia Bazzoni

  • Frank Lelon
    General Management Image of Brussels, Statistics and Civil Service, Office of Brussels Minister of Finance & Budget, Multilingualism, Dutch-speaking Education, Civil Service, Sven Gatz

Brussels-Capital Region (private sector)

  • Olivier Willocx
    CEO - BECI
  • Pierre Konings
    Director of companies

Government Commissioner for the Brussels-Capital Region

  • Lorenzo Van Elsen
    Adviser International Relations, Cabinet of State Secretary Ans Persoons - Government of the Brussels-Capital Region